New Year and New Beginnings

discoveruntIt’s officially 2014 and today is my 24th birthday. It’s also my first day of school in over 4 years. But it’s different this time around. Though I’ve worked as a web designer/web marketing consultant for the past 5 years, I wasn’t entirely happy with the direction of my life. I felt trapped and isolated, like there was no chance of changing my life’s direction without a drastic change. That change manifested in the move back to Dallas, TX this past August. With a new city and a new beginning I enrolled in school again, choosing to follow my passion of writing by getting my Bachelor of Arts in English with a Concentration on Creative Writing from the University of North Texas.

It’s a scary thing in some ways, the idea of starting over. But the important thing is finding my own path and doing what I love. I was relatively content with my career in web design, but it didn’t really make me happy or fulfill me as a person; not in the way that my writing does.

And look at the results so far: I’m back in school on my way to a new career path, I’ve become a part-time sports writer and member of the press for the Dallas Mavericks, and for the first time in a long time feel like the future is filled with potential as my debut novel Affliction continues to work toward publication.

In short, I just want to say thank you to anyone whose helped me get to this point. I’ll do my best to make you proud.

This entry was posted in Updates. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

